Wednesday, May 24, 2023 6:30 PM 8:30 PM Firehouse Arts and Events Center 1314 Harris Avenue Bellingham, WA, 98225 United States (map) Arête Quartet is a groove-oriented acid jazz ensemble, influenced by the In A Silent Way period of Miles Davis, and borrowing from downtempo, straight ahead jazz, nu jazz, Brazilian and other styles.

Originally the concept of drummer Joel Litwin (Erin Corday, Incendio) and bassist Steve Jones (Bilongo, Rumors of the Big Wave, Yambique) over a decade ago, Arête Quartet also pulls from the top jazz and funk players in the Pacific Northwest, including keyboardist Joe Doria (McTuff, Michael Shrieve’s Spellbinder) and trumpeter Ray Larsen (Chemical Clock, Wayne Horvitz). Arête Quartet has also collaborated with luminaries Wayne Horvitz, Will Bernard, and original quartet member Dave Carter. Influences include Amon Tobin, MMW, Thievery Corporation, Erik Truffaz, Les Hommes,

Joining Arête Quartet for this special performance is guitarist/composer Ari Joshua. Ari is coming off a recent recording foray with John Medeski, Billy Martin, Robert Glasper, Ari has worked with Arête Quartet in the past, and his mastery of diverse styles and blistering improvisations are a perfect complement for the music of the Quartet.

"Really great job of evoking the 60/70s Miles Bitches Brew /Herbie Hancock's pre-headhunters vibe." - P. Kelly, Composer/arranger, Tonight Show, Doc Severinsen,

"Reminds me of Weather Report - Sweetnighter era." - R. Conner, The Millionaires

Location: Firehouse Arts and Events Center, 1314 Harris Ave, Bellingham, WA 98225

Cost: $20 general, $10 students. Purchase advance tickets here

Lineup: Ray Larsen (trumpet); Ari Joshua (guitar); Joe Doria (rhodes); Steve Jones (bass); Joel Litwin (drums).

Website: Earlier Event: May 10 Cyrus Nabipoor Quartet Later Event: June 14 Jeff Busch & Magic Circle Jazz Center of Bellingham was founded in 2016, is a registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit arts and education charitable organization in the state of Washington, and is recognized as eligible to receive tax exempt donations by the Internal Revenue Service. Your support goes a long way! Photography by:

Conner Helms Leon James Photography Katya McMullen Max Gleiberman